US-GAP Funding

Critical Dates

Friday 15 June 2018
12.00pm (AEST)

Applications close

Overview

The objectives of this scheme are to:

  • Support the pursuit of US research funding by providing both an accelerator program aimed at educating researchers on the US grant funding landscape and seed funding to support an application with values of approximately $100,000 AUD.
  • For participants seeking support for applications that have values of less than $100,000 AUD, applicants need to demonstrate that the US GAP funding is required for the application to succeed, and that the funding will benefit their research output, impact and future funding prospects.

Funding

Chancellery will match the Academic Division’s contribution on a 1:1 basis up to $2,500 each.  There is no limit on how much an Academic Division may contribute above that figure though it is expected that most participants will apply for a maximum of $5000.  Academic Divisions may apply their own limits to the quantity and value of grants.  The original number of participants will dictate the contribution by Chancellery.

How to apply

For all Academic Divisions

  1. Review the US GAP Funding Rules

    Review the US GAP Funding Rules for this scheme, link here.

  2. Submit a US GAP Seed Funding Application Form

    Download the US GAP Seed Funding Application Form, link here.

    Email this completed application to your Academic Division’s research office, cc us-gap@unimelb.edu.au and the appropriate Academic Division US GAP Representative (see below table). A list of research offices across the university can be found here: http://research.unimelb.edu.au/contact-us/faculty-research-contacts

    Academic Division

    US GAP Representative

    Education

    Jacinta Ridge <jacinta.ridge@unimelb.edu.au>

    Law

    Madeline Grey <greym@unimelb.edu.au>

    FVAS

    Edwina Goh <edwina.goh@unimelb.edu.au>

    FBE

    Bianca Durrant <bdurrant@unimelb.edu.au>

    Arts

    Eliette Dupre Husser <edupre@unimelb.edu.au>

    Science

    Nicola Pressling <nicola.pressling@unimelb.edu.au>

    Mika Shimoda <mshimoda@unimelb.edu.au>

    MDHS

    Monjita Dutta-Doloi <monjitad@unimelb.edu.au>

    MSE

    Melissa Glenister<melissa.glenister@unimelb.edu.au>

    ABP

    Hayley Shaw <hayley.shaw@unimelb.edu.au>

  3. Submit to Themis if Seed Funding Application is Successful

    Save the completed US GAP Seed Funding Application Form as a single PDF file and submit via the Themis Submissions Workbench.

Supporting documents

  • 2018 US GAP Funding Rules
  • 2018 US GAP Seed Funding Application Form
  • Themis Submission Instructions
  • Please note that all 2018 documents were updated 5pm Monday 11 December 2017. If you downloaded a copy of these documents prior to this time, please refer to the most recent documents.

    Helpful Information from Past Workshops

    2018 Seminar Schedule:

    Workshop

    Date

    Register

    United States Philanthropic Sponsors

    30 Jan 2018 (Tuesday)

    Closed.

    Demystifying United States Grants

    13 Feb 2018 (Tuesday)

    Closed.

    Nuts & Bolts of Successful Awards

    (Panel Discussion)

    20 Mar

    2018

    (Tuesday)

    Closed.

    Contacts

    Email: US-GAP@unimelb.edu.au
    Ph: + 61 8344 9104