Murray-Lopez Award nominations now open: supporting research on global burden of disease

2 minute read

People walking and riding motorbikes through a market lane in morocco

Morocco is defined by the World Bank as a lower-middle-income country.

Nominations are open for the new Murray-Lopez Award. The award supports researchers who are working to improve the measurement and knowledge of the global burden of disease.

The Murray-Lopez Award aims to help early-career researchers who are carrying out research on the global burden of disease. The award supports research improving the methods used to measure global burden of disease (GBD) or applying GBD methods in low- and middle-income countries.

About the award

Starting in 2021, the University of Melbourne and the University of Washington will each make one award annually. This year, the winner of the University of Melbourne Murray-Lopez Award will receive AU$6,654 to support their research.

The award was created by Laureate Professor Alan Lopez, the Rowden-White Chair Of Global Health in the Melbourne School of Population and Global Health, and Professor Christopher Murray, Director of the Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation at the University of Washington, USA.

Professors Lopez and Murray established the Global Burden of Disease Study. This annual study systematically assesses the global loss of health due to disease. The latest study looked at 369 diseases and injuries and 87 risk factors in people from 204 countries. Clinicians and researchers use the Global Burden of Disease Study to understand national and international trends, and to measure the outcomes of large-scale health interventions. Policy makers use it to set global health priorities. The World Health Organization uses the study to produce its Global Health Estimates. They provide the latest data on the leading causes of death and disability worldwide.

How to nominate

  • Nominations for the Murray-Lopez Award must be submitted on behalf of the nominee. Researchers cannot nominate themselves.
  • Nominees may be affiliated with any university or research organisation.
  • Preference will be given to nominees who are based in a low- or middle-income country.

Visit Murray-Lopez Award to find information on eligibility and the submission process, as well as an application form.

Nominations must be submitted by 29 March 2021.

More information

For submission questions or more information about the Murray-Lopez Award, contact Jane Inall, Senior Project Coordinator, Global Burden of Disease Group at

Image: Max Brown/Unsplash

Related items