More about centres

Research centres and institutes central to the University’s strategy of raising the teaching and research profile of the University, fostering research excellence, collaboration, esteem and visibility. They are a mechanism for meeting the emerging needs of multi-disciplinary requirements in new teaching and research areas. Information pertaining to the establishment and management of Centres for Research & Research Training (CRRTs) and Melbourne Interdisciplinary Research Institutes (MIRIs) can be found in the policy. A full list of the University's CRRTs, including details on their establishment dates can be found here.


Opportunities to create MIRIs are identified as part of the DVC(R)’s research strategy. Additional information on these institutes can be found here.


Opportunities to create CRRTs are identified by academics, with the support of department(s), school(s) and academic division(s) as appropriate. In general, CRRTs fall under one of three categories:

UoM Research Centres

UoM Research Centres (previously called Institutional Centres) are wholly managed within the University. These centres are established independently of an external agreement and require the approval of the Vice-Chancellor (delegated to the University Executive). For more information on the process contact

Collaborative Centres

Collaborative Centres (Institutes or Hubs) are established following an agreement between the University and one or more external organisations. These centres are unincorporated, and responsibility for their operation is shared between the University and other participating organisations.

Within this group, centres established as the result of the award and acceptance of a competitive and peer reviewed funding scheme grant or tender process are referred to as competitively funded Centre. Examples of competitively funded centres include those established under the following schemes:

- Australian Research Council (ARC) Centres of Excellence

- National Health and Medical Research Council (NHRMC) Centres of Research Excellence

- Industrial Transformation Research Programme (ITRP) Hubs and Training Centres

Incorporated Centres

Incorporated Centres are independent legal entities in which the University participates. Incorporated Centres can also be formed as the result of success peer reviewed application for funding. Examples of competitively funded incorporated centres include those established under:

- Cooperative Research Centres (CRC)

More information on these competitive schemes and how to apply is available here or by contacting